International Mathematical Union Awards, which include the pretigious Fields Medal, have been awarded during 2018 International Congress of Mathematicians which is taking place in Rio de Janerio between August 1, 2018 and August 9, 2018.

The recepient of the 2018 Leelevati Prize, which is an award for contributions to public awareness of mathematics, is the Turkish mathematician Prof. Dr. Ali Nesin from Bilgi University. Ali Nesin has been awarded the Leelevati Prize "in recognition of his outstanding contributions and great achievements towards increasing public awareness of mathematics in Turkey, especially because of his tireless work in creating and developing the Mathematics Village as an exceptional, peaceful place for education, research and the exploration of mathematics for a wide range of people."

The full list of the recepients of 2018 International Mathematical Union Awards are as follows.

Fields Medal:
- Caucher Birkar
- Alessio Figalli
- Peter Scholze
- Akshay Venkatesh

Leelavati Award:
- Ali Nesin

Gauss Prize:
- David Donoho

Chern Medal:
- Masaki Kashiwara

Nevanlinna Prize:
- Constantinos Daskalakis

Last Updated:
02/08/2018 - 14:03